First off…

Alright, I’m finally here and doing this blog thing. Hopefully I catch on quick and it’s worth reading to all you lovely people who have stumbled upon it somehow.
So I’m writing this at 1 in the morning on January 2nd, but let’s not nitpick and say I’m writing it on the 1st, since I haven’t gone to bed yet. With the first day of the first month in a new year comes resolutions, of which I usually roll my eyes at. I’ve made and broken them before, and it seems silly to wait until January 1st to start doing what you should have been doing already. But alas, here I am. And it’s because I had an idea to go along with the usual “new year, new me” BS that takes the BS away (in my opinion anyway). So here’s my plan. Since there are many things I want to accomplish this year, instead of piling all the pressure on at once, I’m going to spread it out. One new resolution each month for all 12 months of the year. I’m not quite at 12 resolutions on my list yet, but I’m close enough that I know I can figure out what the last few will be. I thought about writing them all out for you, but I’ll keep them to myself and create some intrigue for everyone.
Here we go, month 1, resolution 1.
January 2017: Take Better Care of my Type 1 Diabetes!
I have had this super sucky disease since I was 7 years old. I know almost everything about it, yet I still haven’t forced myself to buck up and take care of it 100%. And it’s terrifying all of the complications that go along with it when you don’t give it the attention it deserves. I recently learned that birth defects are way higher with someone who doesn’t have control over their blood sugars. I’m not pregnant, but I did get married in 2016 and we are talking more about starting a family. I know it’s going to be a rough road regardless, since diabetes affects everything I do, so if I can get better control now, I will hopefully be able to cut these risks down. That and I need to do it for myself, and my family. I had a couple months last year where I focused a lot of attention on my diabetes, but wedding planning complicated things at times, and I started slipping up again. I’m kind of sick of myself for being such a procrastinator in this, but making my goal public and having people to keep me accountable is a trick I hope will help me along!
That’s it for post number 1. I will go into more details in future posts about the specifics of what I’m doing to take care of myself, but for now, I should get some shut eye. More on this year of resolutions to come!

Leave a comment